TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 2:27 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Ignition/airbag issues
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 6:22 pm 

Hello everyone I hope this post works, it's my first time. I recently bought a standard 1995 pontiac firefly with 262,000km on it 3 cylinder 1.0L engine. Amazing car, was told the engine and clutch have been replaced 60,000km ago. Of course I had to run into a problem eventually right? Well the first thing that failed was my ignition. No matter how many times I jiggled the steering wheel or moved the key around, it would not turn. I spoke to GM and several parts stores in town along with a couple locksmiths, they all pointed tumblers inside the ignition, and all said it was an unservicable part. So I bought an aftermarket ignition and cut all the original wiring to my old ignition and wired it in. I have basic wiring knowledge and was able to identify all but 2 wires that went into the original ignition. I really wish I knew how to add pictures as I would show you the original ignition switch. The 2 unidentified wires that went into my ignition are black and a black/white strip. I know the solid black wire is constant ground verified it with a test light, however the black/white wire only receives ground when the ignition switch is in the start position, as in the vehicle is being started, and then receives no power after the vehicle is started and you release the key. I have a feeling this wire has something to do with my airbag system, as my airbag light is now on. However I may have damaged my clock spring taking off my steering wheel still have to verify the clock spring is working. I also thought it had something to do with the key left in the ignition buzzer, but I f