TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:13 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:49 pm 

:-P hey guys,want your info,good or bad,on spark plugs for my 1.0turbo,plus oil to break-in the fresh rebuild.i have been using bosch platinums for many years with no issues,pennzoil in my motors until i can trust them with synthetic,i will use a zinc additive on the first oil fill.any comments good or bad will be taken into consideration,even from the peanut gallery =) THANKS EVERYBODY!!----shane

3 tech turbo grind cam
3 tech cylinder head/w/port,polish,blend,oversized s/s valves
gti brake swap
more to come...

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:59 pm 

I like NGK plugs, and whatever oil is on sale. I think any of the name brand plugs, or oil is fine.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:04 pm 
banned and still posting

ngk plugs, hands down. i use either the basic coppers or their u-groove plugs.

engine oil is a personal thing. as long as the service and viscosity range is correct, everything is everything. :lol:

the old school thought is to break your engine in on dino juice and then switch to synthetic at the first oil change. the rings need a little friction to bed in and they just wouldn't break in with the synthetic.

i think i'll run my new engine on an initial fill of synthetic just to see if that's a myth.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:07 am 

It's no myth,